# THE NATIONAL COLLEGE (Autonomous) Jayanagar, Bangalore

## **DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMICS**

MINUTES OF BOARD OF STUDIES MEETING OF ACADEMIC YEAR 2022-2023

**Date & Time**: 12<sup>th</sup> October, 2022 (11.00 AM)

Venue: IQAC Board room, National College, Jayanagar

## THE NATIONAL COLLEGE

(Autonomous) Jayanagar, Bangalore-560070

## **DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMICS**

#### **BOARD OF STUDIES MEETING OF ACADEMIC YEAR 2022-2023**

### Program: B.A. (Basics and Honors) in Economics

Date and time: 12<sup>th</sup> October, 2022 (11.00 AM)

Venue: IQAC Board room, National College, Jayanagar

#### <u>Agenda</u>

1) To discuss and finalize syllabus for III Semester and IV Semester B.A.

2) To discuss and finalize the question paper pattern for the examinations.

3) To constitute the Board of examiners.

### Proposed program structure for undergraduate program in Economics

## B.A. (Basic and Honors) for III & IV Semester

III Semester	Paper Code	Title of the paper	Credits points	
	DSC-3.1	Microeconomics	3	
	DSC-3.2	Mathematics for Economics	3	
	Choose any one the following			
	OE-3.7.1	Rural Economics	3	
	OE-3.7.3	Economics of Human Development		
		Total	09	
IV Semester	DSC-4.1	Macro Economics	3	
	DSC-4.2	Statistics for Economics	3	
	Choose any one the following			
	OE-4.7.1	Karnataka Economy	3	
	OE-4.7.2	Entrepreneurial Economics		
		Total	09	

# **DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMICS**

### **BOARD OF STUDIES MEETING OF ACADEMIC YEAR 2022-2023**

## Members of Board of Studies

Sl.	Name and designation of members	Role
No.		
1.	Dr. Nagachampa Jain,	Chairman
	Assistant professor and Head,	of
	Department of Economics,	Board of Studies
	The National College (Autonomous), Jayanagar, Bangalore	
2.	Dr. Parvathamma, G. L.,	
	Professor and Chairperson,	
	Department of Economics,	University
	Jnanabharathi campus, Bangalore University	representative
	Contact number: +91 9741175185	
3.	Dr. Padmini Rao,	
	Professor (Retd.) and Former Head,	
	Department of Economics,	Subject expert
	The National College, Basavanagudi, Bangalore	
	Contact number: +91 9481035736	
4.	Dr. Prathima, P. S.	
	Assistant professor and Head,	~
	Department of Economics,	Subject expert
	The National College, Basavanagudi, Bangalore	
5.	Mr. C. S. Sudheer,	
	Founder and C. E. O,	
	IndianMoney.com and ffreedom app,	Industrialist
	#50, Vinaya Arcade, KH Road, Shanthi Nagar, Bangalore	
	Contact number: +91 9342856694	
6.	Mrs. Parijatha,	
	Lecturer in Economics,	
	VVN PU College,	Alumni member
	Vanivilas Road, VV Puram, Bangalore	
7.	Mr. Jeevan, S.	
	Assistant professor,	Internal member
	Department of Economics,	
	The National College (Autonomous), Jayanagar, Bangalore	

# **DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMICS** MINUTES OF BOARD OF STUDIES MEETING

The Board of Studies meeting in Economics was held on 12<sup>th</sup> October 2022 at 11.00 AM in IQAC Board Room, to discuss and finalize syllabus of Economics for III and IV semester B.A. (Honors) for the academic Year 2022-2023. Dr. Nagachampa Jain, Chairperson of Board of Studies, Head of the Department of Economics, welcomed the esteemed members of the board to the meeting.

#### Members present:

- 1. Prof. Parvathamma, G.L.
- 2. Prof. Padmini Rao
- 3. Dr. Prathima, P. S.
- 4. Dr. Nagachampa Jain
- 5. Mr. Jeevan, S.

#### Members absent:

- 1. Mr. C. S. Sudheer
- 2. Mrs. Parijatha

#### **Details of deliberation**

- 1. The Board has reviewed the working and progress of different semesters of B. A. course and expressed their satisfaction.
- The Board discussed and finalized the syllabus for III and IV semesters of B.A course as per National Education Policy (NEP 2022-2023)
- Board has unanimously decided to retain the syllabus framed and approved by the Bangalore University, for B.A (Honors) Economics- Semester - III, it was decided to offer the following courses as Discipline Specific Core (DSC) courses
  - DSC 3.1: Microeconomics, (3 credits)
  - DSC 3.2: Mathematics for Economics (3 Credits)

and for Open Elective Course (OEC), Board agreed to offer any one or two of the below mentioned papers as per requirement.

- OEC 3.7.1: Rural Economics (3 credits)
- OEC 3.7.3: Economics of Human Development (3 Credits)

- For B.A (Honors) Economics- Semester IV, it was decided to offer the following courses as Discipline Specific Core (DSC) courses
  - DSC 4.1: Macroeconomics, (3 credits)
  - DSC 4.2: Statistics for Economics (3 Credits)

and for Open Elective Course (OEC), Board agreed to offer any one or two of the below mentioned papers as per requirement.

- OEC 4.7.1: Karnataka Economy (3 credits)
- OEC 4.7.3: Entrepreneurial Economics (3 Credits)
- The Board suggested to retain the assessment pattern for 100 marks, it includes (Formative assessment marks- 40 and Summative assessment marks- 60), and question paper pattern i.e. (5X2=10 marks, 10X2=20 marks and ,15X2=30 marks for III & IV semester B.A.).
- 6. The Board agreed to introduce add-on course on 'Economics of Tourism' and finalized the syllabus.
- 7. The Board has recommended the following panel of external examiners to the Board of Examiners:
  - i. Dr. Padmini Rao
  - ii. Dr. Prathima, P. S.
  - iii. Dr. Rohini
  - iv. Prof. Balakrishna

The Board has decided to review the working and progress of different semesters from time to time. At the end, Dr. Nagachampa Jain, Chairman of Board of Studies and Head of the Department of Economics, thanked to all the members for their kind cooperation and valuable suggestions.

#### Chairperson

#### **Copies to:**

- 1. The Principal, The National College (Autonomous), Jayanagar, Bangalore
- 2. Controller of Examinations
- 3. Department file
- 4. Office copy.

# THE NATIONAL COLLEGE (Autonomous) Jayanagar, Bangalore-70 Department of Economics Proceedings of Board of Studies Meeting

The Board of Studies meeting in Economics was held Wednesday, 12<sup>th</sup> October, 2022 at 11 AM in IQAC Board Room to discuss and finalize syllabus of Economics for III and IV semester B.A. (Honors) for the academic year 2022-2023.

### Members present

Sl. No.	Name and designation of members	Signature
1.	<b>Dr. Nagachampa Jain [Chairperson]</b> Assistant professor and Head, Department of Economics, The National College (Autonomous), Jayanagar, Bangalore	NBh-
1.	Dr. Parvathamma, G. L. [University Nominee] Professor and Chairperson, Department of Economics, Jnanabharathi campus, Bangalore University Contact number: +91 9741175185	Ranger
2.	Dr. Padmini Rao [Subject Expert] Professor (Retd.) and Former Head, Department of Economics, The National College, Basavanagudi, Bangalore Contact number: +91 9481035736	ladine "
3.	<b>Dr. Prathima, P. S. [Subject Expert]</b> Assistant professor and Head, Department of Economics, The National College, Basavanagudi, Bangalore	Pall
4.	Mr. C. S. Sudheer [Industrialist] Founder and C. E. O, IndianMoney.com and ffreedom app #50, Vinaya Arcade, KH Road, Shanthi Nagar, Bangalore Contact number: +91 9342856694	- ABSENT-
5.	Mrs. Parijatha [Alumni] Lecturer in Economics, VVN PU College Vanivilas Road, VV Puram, Bangalore	-ABSENT
6.	Mr. Jeevan, S. [Internal Member] Assistant professor, Department of Economics, The National College (Autonomous), Jayanagar, Bangalore	SH: